User Generated Education

Education as it should be – passion-based.

The Branches of the Other 21st Century Skills

with 4 comments

Many have attempted to identify the skills important for a learner today in this era of the 21st century (I know it is an overused phrase).  I have an affinity towards the skills identified by Tony Wagner:

  • Critical thinking and problem-solving
  • Collaboration across networks and leading by influence
  • Agility and adaptability
  • Initiative and entrepreneurialism
  • Effective oral and written communication
  • Accessing and analyzing information
  • Curiosity and imagination   http://www.tonywagner.com/7-survival-skills

This presentation sparked my thinking about what other skills and attributes would serve the learners (of all ages) in this era of learning.  Some other ones that I believe important based on what I hear at conferences, read via blogs and other social networks include:

  • Grit
  • Resilience
  • Hope and Optimism
  • Vision
  • Self-Regulation
  • Empathy and Global Stewardship

These are presented along with a graphic in The Other 21st Century Skills. Due to the popularity of the graphic in that post, I developed another one to provide another perspective of these skills and attributes . . .

Slide1

Other Posts about The 21st Century Skills:

Written by Jackie Gerstein, Ed.D.

February 2, 2014 at 11:31 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You have made my morning. Beautiful. How long did it take you to produce? And to elaborate the idea? a long time, I am sure. I will be sharing with my communities – your drawings deserve to be seen!

    mdvfunes

    February 4, 2014 at 8:55 am

    • Thanks!

      Jackie Gerstein, Ed.D.

      February 4, 2014 at 2:04 pm

  2. (Do you DRAW these beautiful creations? What app do you use?)
    Amazing visual, clever characters, and interesting content to think about when recognizing what our students need to go out into the world. Your graphic really made me think about myself, too. We ourselves are living here in the 21st century and I often wonder what I might be like if I had the schooling my students have.
    Grit, indeed, is needed!
    I’m fascinated by teaching right now….fascinated by how complex it can become to ask the question “What should we be teaching?” I myself might hack off a few branches of the Common Core tree, but that’s not to say I don’t consider those standards extremely valuable.
    Again, love your tree!!

    Rachel MacDonald

    February 23, 2014 at 2:44 am

    • Thanks, Rachel! Maybe hacking branches will be a future blog for one of us?

      Jackie Gerstein, Ed.D.

      February 23, 2014 at 2:49 am


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.