User Generated Education

Education as it should be – passion-based.

Education Reform with Jackie Gerstein

leave a comment »

I was excited to have Sieva Kozinsky from Study Soup contact me to discuss my views about educational reform.  I appreciate his style of interviewing and his write-up/posting of the interview and the highlights.  As such, I am reblogging it from http://studysoup.wordpress.com/2014/01/14/education-reform-with-jackie-gerstein/.

Note:  It is really difficult for me to watch and listen to myself as well as put myself out there like this but I promote educators using their voice for reform.  This is a way to practice what I preach.

Education Reform with Jackie Gerstein

Time is precious, and school is stealing time away from our students.

Our guest today is Jackie Gerstein, Boise State, Walden, Western Governors, and American InterContinental Adjunct Professor and founder of User Generated Education. She has also produced over three dozen Slideshare presentations outlining her views on the student driven classroom. In this talk, Jackie highlights the role of the teacher in the new age classroom, as well as her summary of education 1.0, 2.0 and 3.0.

Her MOTTO is:

I don’t do teaching for a living, I live teaching as my doing, and technology has AMPLIFIED my passion.

WATCH HERE:

Noteworthy moments you should pay attention to:

6:05 – Summary of education 1.0, 2.0 and 3.0.

8:40 – A teacher’s role is no longer to provide information or content. The role of a new age teacher to provide expertise in the process.

14:50 – Become a connected educator, get on Twitter!

10:05 – Jackie discusses her point of view on teacher agency. There are a lot of choices out there, but also a lot of restrictions. What can teachers do? Stand up for your freedom as an educator, and become a connected learner!

17:00 – All of your students should be blogging, creating and engaging in the learning process.

Mentions of Technology

  • Twitter – It’s a teacher’s responsibility to be a connected educator, which is the first step towards student driven learning.
  • Worpress.com and Tumblr.com – Free blogging platform for students.
  • Minecraft – A social building game.

You can reach Jackie Gerstein on Twitter @jackiegerstein and on her website.

I’m a big fan of her Slideshare on education 3.0 as seen below.

Written by Jackie Gerstein, Ed.D.

January 16, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Leave a Reply

