User Generated Education

Education as it should be – passion-based.

Facilitating Learner Voice and Presence in the Classroom Using Experiential Activities

leave a comment »

This is the companion piece to Facilitating Learner Voice and Presence in the Classroom Using Mobile Devices.  The first post described how mobile devices were used during the initial classes of this undergraduate course (mostly 18-20 year old students).  This post focuses on the hands-on, experiential activities I used.  The introduction is the same, but the activities, obviously, are different.

I work towards a learner-centric classroom based on the following principles:

  1. Give learners multiple opportunities to be heard and seen through multiple modalities – verbal, written, visual.
  2. Get to know each learner as an individual – this is in line with my belief of the educator as an ethnographer.  Really see every learner in the room.
  3. Insure that the learners see one another as much as (or better yet more than) the content and the teacher.
  4. Provide ongoing opportunities to connect with the learners and for them to connect with each other.
  5. Use strategies, tools, and materials that the learners use outside of the school
  6. Make sure learners know that they are significant, important, that they matter- see Angela Maiers You Matter.
  7. Use learning activities that are engaging and authentic with the knowledge that the learners are giving their time (and sometimes money) to be in the learning environment.  (I feel an obligation not to “steal” my learners time with activities that are boring, useless – painful for them.)

As such, my first classes are always focused on having the students get to know one another and building a sense of community.  The only content-related activity during the first class is going over the syllabus which occurs during hour 3 or 4 of the class – not the first activity.

Group Norm Development – Class Contracts

Students were given the following task . . .

. . . and then asked to create a metaphor or symbol for their group norms.

I Am Poems

Students created poems using the following template:

http://score.rims.k12.ca.us/score_lessons/symbols_freedom/pages/i_am_poem.html

I gave students the option of using magnetic poetry (collected with several eBay purchases) to complete the assignment.

(This is a Spanish Version of Magnetic Poetry)

. . .  and here are some students’ poems.

Self-Collages

Students created collages of images that represented their physical, intellectual, emotional, and social selves.

Student Reflections About the Class Activities

Students are posting their class reflections via Facebook.  Here are some of their comments about the class activities:

In class this week we got into groups to work on class values and what we want to expect from this class. The groups we were put into we were with people we barely knew, it was very exciting. I enjoyed getting to know the 3 girls I was grouped with and I believe I got to know the talents the girls have.

I was unaware of how much we use communication. The way we think about things make all the difference in the world, reminds me of “The glass is half full or half empty”. I loved the fact that we spent most of the class time learning about the others in the class. Learning about others helps us communicate better as well as making the class more comfortable!

Jackie had us create a collage that showed our physical, social, emotional, and intellectual selves, I was unable to finish the collage however because of a health problem I had during class. I learned that the people I attend class with have had hard lives, and are giving their all to change them into better ones. The hands on learning experience that the class offers helped me understand how things from my mind go onto paper.

I was very happy that my group was able to just be open and I was able to see the personalities of people come out. I love making new friends so I was very excited about this.

Written by Jackie Gerstein, Ed.D.

October 17, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Leave a Reply

