User Generated Education

Education as it should be – passion-based.

Comic and Animation Technologies in the Classroom

with one comment

I have several lists of online project-product creators for my K-8 technology students.  I cover a new tool every week or so.  But being kids, they like to explore the other tools from these lists.  The ones that overwhelmingly get noticed and the ones the students get most excited about are the comics and animation creators.  There were several tweets over the weekend that inspired me add to my knowledge, tools, and personal excitement for using comics and animations in the classrooms.  I have aggregated and compiled the following resources for my students.

Here is what covered S. Hendy in her slideshow plus some additions of my own:

Online Comic Creators

Animations

The following amazing animation, shared via Twitter, was completely made using the open source 3D software, Blender:

contains minor violence but the story is excellent (and sad)

Animation Creation Tools

Using Comics and Animation in the Classroom

My ultimate goal for using technology in education is having students love learning and creating.  The tools are the means to do so.  As such, they can be connected to a number of content-based assignments:

 

Written by Jackie Gerstein, Ed.D.

October 3, 2010 at 7:10 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As I prepare to teach art to middle school students, this blog is going to be very useful for me in the near future. I hadn’t even thought of doing a comic strip unit. Even the 8th grade boys that think art is too cool for them might get caught up in the excitement of a comic and animation assignment. I am excited about checking out your Online Comic Creators. I don’t even know what these tools will do for us, but I have a feeling that I am going to be pleasantly surprised by the possibilities. Thank you for all the great information. I am glad you had the inspiration to share.

    Alisa

    October 9, 2012 at 2:40 am


Leave a Reply

